What curriculum do the children follow?
Children are born ready and eager to learn. They actively reach out to interact with other people and the world around them. Development depends on each unique child having opportunities to interact within positive relationships and enabling environments. Children develop quickly in the early years, so the staff do all they can, in partnership with the mums, dads and carers, to help children to experience the best possible start in life.

We plan for all the children using the latest Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). This is a distinct learning phase for children of 0 to 5 years and is the first part of the National Curriculum.

The Early Years Foundation Stage supports the whole child under 4 themes:

  •  A Unique Child
  •  Positive Relationships
  •  Enabling Environments
  •  Learning and Development

The Early Years Foundation Stage includes seven areas of learning and development which combine 3 prime areas:

  •  Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  •  Communication and Language
  •  Physical Development

and 4 specific areas to develop a child’s relationships, experiences, skills and knowledge:

  •  Literacy
  •  Mathematics
  •  Understanding the World
  •  Expressive Arts and Design

The EYFS has Early Learning Goals (ELGs), which typically developing children might achieve by the end of their reception year in primary school. We plan our curriculum to help each child on their journey to achieve these goals.

We believe very strongly that children learn best through play and first-hand experiences. We plan, observe and evaluate our curriculum, giving play and children’s interests and passions the highest priority.

The ways in which a child engages with other people and their environment – playing and exploring, active learning and creating and thinking – underpins learning and development across all prime and specific areas of the curriculum and supports them to be a motivated and effective learner.

To find out more on the subject, visit this website –